Research Collaboration Awards

The purpose of these Awards is to encourage medical researchers in Western Australia to establish and develop research collaborations, both nationally and internationally, to seek a better understanding of the nature, origin, and cause of human diseases, and their prevention and treatment. They aim to facilitate cross-institutional or organisational ties, with increased opportunities for collaborative publications, joint grant submissions, sharing and advancement of research/clinical skills, and industry linkages.


Research Collaboration Awards are available in the following categories:

  1. Healy Research Collaboration Awards (Early-career researchers across all medical research disciplines)
  2. BrightSpark Research Collaboration Awards (Early-career researchers in the field of child health)
  3. Charter Hall Research Collaboration Awards (Early-career researchers in the field of child health)
  4. Cockell Research Collaboration Awards (Early-career, mid-career and senior researchers in the field of mental illness)


Applicants can apply for up to $30,000 for costs directly associated with developing the collaboration, such as travel, accommodation, and workshops.

Guidelines and Conditions

The Guidelines and Conditions governing the Awards are subject to regular review by the Research Committee to ensure that they are relevant and clearly articulate the main principles for selection.

Applicants should refer to the eligibility and career-level guide and the Research Collaboration Awards Guidelines and Conditions to ensure they meet the eligibility requirements before commencing this application.


Applications for 2020 Research Collaboration Awards are now closed. Applications for 2021 Research Collaboration Awards will open in August 2020.


Certification Form

Please download the Certification Form (PDF or fillable PDF format, available below) and upload in the online application with all required signatures.

Research Collaboration Awards Certification Form (PDF)

Research Collaboration Awards Certification Form (fillable PDF)


Key Dates

Call for Applications – 9 August 2019

Applications close – 19 September 2019, 1.00 pm AWST

Awards announced – December 2019

Funds distributed – January 2020


Previous Recipients