2019 Grants, Awards and Prizes announcement

June 1, 2019

Overall, the Raine Foundation distributed in excess of $2.8m in research funding for the 2019 round. The Research Committee again acknowledged the excellent work being conducted in Western Australia and extends best wishes to all applicants for the ongoing success of their research. Congratulations go to the successful recipients.

Raine Priming Grants

The Raine Medical Research Foundation is pleased to announce that it has awarded seven Priming Grants for the two-year period 2019-2020, with a total funding allocation of $1,105,788.85.

Dr Chris Brennan-Jones: Raine/Robson Fellow
Wesfarmers Centre for Vaccines and Infectious Diseases, Telethon Kids Institute
Project: Ear Portal: An ear health telehealth portal for Aboriginal children in metropolitan areas
$10,000 (travel allowance)

Dr Naomi Scott: Stewart/BrightSpark Fellow
Telethon Kids Institute
Project: Attenuation of maternal inflammation to promote normal offspring neuro-immune development

Dr Lisa Martin: Raine/Cockell Fellow
Burn Injury Research Unit, University of Western Australia
Project: Postburn growth and coping: Resources to reframe

Dr Anabel Sorolla Bardaji
Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, University of Western Australia
Project: A novel therapeutic approach to treat triple negative breast cancers

Dr Edward Fysh
Institute of Respiratory Health, University of Western Australia
Project: Improving management of pleural effusions in intensive care patients- the ESO-DICE Trial

Dr Daniel Knight
School of Veterinary and Life Sciences, Murdoch University
Project: One Health: A new paradigm for studying evolution & transmission in Clostridium difficile

Dr Belinda Guo
School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Western Australia
Project: Platelets as a novel blood biomarker for bone marrow fibrosis

Dr Stephen Macdonald
Centre for Clinical Research in Emergency Medicine, University of Western Australia
Project: Effect of intravenous fluid volume on the pathobiology of sepsis

Raine Visiting Professor Awards

The 2019 Raine Visiting Professor Awards have been awarded to four recipients for visits in 2019:

Professor Des Richardson
University of Sydney, Australia
Date of Visit: March 2019
Nominating Host: Dr Elin Gray, School of Medical and Health Sciences, Edith Cowan University

Professor Thomas Erren
University of Cologne, Germany
Date of Visit: September 2019
Nominating Host: Professor Lin Fritschi, School of Public Health, Curtin University

Professor Timothy Philip Atkins
Defence Science Technology Laboratory (DSTL), UK
Date of Visit: Sept/Oct 2019
Nominating Host: Dr Mitali Sarkar-Tyson, School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Western Australia

Professor Mary Wlodek
The University of Melbourne, Australia
Date of Visit: 2019
Nominating Host: A/Prof Donna Geddes, School of Molecular Sciences, University of Western Australia

Healy Research Collaboration Awards

The 2019 Healy Research Collaboration Awards of up to $30,000 each have been awarded to two recipients:

Dr Anabel Sorolla Bardaji
Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, University of Western Australia
Collaborating Institution: Spanish National Research Council / Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas (CSIC)
Project: Synthesis and characterisation of cutting-edge magnetic nanoparticles for anti-cancer treatment

Dr Lee Nedkoff
School of Population and Global Health, University of Western Australia
Collaborating Institution: University of Auckland, New Zealand
Project: Extending the potential of linked health data for international studies of cardiovascular disease: an Australia/New Zealand collaboration

Cockell Research Collaboration Awards

The 2019 Cockell Research Collaboration Awards of up to $30,000 each have been awarded to three recipients:

Professor Vera Morgan
Medical School, Population Health, University of Western Australia
Collaborating Institution: Aarhus University, Denmark
Project: Why is the impact of urban birth on risk for schizophrenia reversed in Western Australia compared to Denmark? A proof-of-concept collaboration utilising both sites’ record-linkage capabilities.

Dr Yael Perry
Youth Mental Health, Telethon Kids Institute
Collaborating Institution: Orygen – The National Centre of Excellence in Youth Mental Health, Melbourne
Project: Targeted suicide prevention for LGBTIQ young people

Dr Keely Bebbington
Children’s Diabetes Centre, Telethon Kids Institute
Collaborating Institution: The Interdisciplinary Center of Psychopathology and Emotion Regulation (ICPE) in the Department of Psychiatry, University Medical Centre of Groningen, Netherlands
Project: Characterising moment-to-moment fluctuation in stress, anxiety and blood glucose levels in children and adolescents with type 1 diabetes.

BrightSpark Research Collaboration Award

The 2019 BrightSpark Research Collaboration Award of up to $30,000 has been awarded to the following recipient:

Dr Diana Tan
School of Psychological Science, University of Western Australia
Collaborating Institution: University of Cambridge, UK
Project: Investigating biological markers of autism using longitudinal cohort studies in the UK and Australia

Raine Research Prize

The 2019 Raine Research Prize consisting of a travel allowance valued at $5,000 and a medallion was awarded to:

Dr Sam Buckberry
Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, University of Western Australia
Publication: Transient and permanent reconfiguration of chromatin and transcription factor occupancy drive reprogrammingCell Stem Cell. 2017 Dec 7;21(6):834-845.e6.

Strachan Memorial Prize

The 2019 Strachan Memorial Prize consisting of a travel allowance valued at $5,000 and a medallion was awarded to:

Dr Rajesh Thomas
Department of Respiratory Medicine, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital
Publication: Effect of an Indwelling Pleural Catheter vs Talc Pleurodesis on Hospitalization Days in Patients With Malignant Pleural Effusion: The AMPLE Randomized Clinical Trial. Journal of the American Medical Association. 2017 Nov 21;318(19):1903-1912.